Views: 607       |      Posted: February 9, 2018 20:29:40pm GMT
cutting of the cake

Igbobi College, Yaba marked its 86th Founders’ Day anniversary with panache. The two-day activity started on Friday February 2nd 2018 with a Communion Service at the Rev Canon Parker Chapel and ended with the prestigious 2018 ICOBA Merit Awards and Luncheon on Sunday February 4th 2017 at the Rev Angus Memorial Hall, both at Igbobi College, Yaba.

The annual Thanksgiving service of the old boys preceded the Merit Award ceremony on Sunday in the chapel. The well-attended service had Right Reverend Stephen Adegbite, the Bishop of Ikeja Diocese of the Methodist Church of Nigeria, deliver the sermon.

The main event of the day was the award of Merit to 19 distinguished old boys who had excelled in various categories through service and honour to their Alma Mata, their profession and the nation, Nigeria. The awardees, who were decorated by the ICOBA President, Mr Foluso Olajide Phillips with medals and given award plaques included notable names like Mr Babatunde Fowler, Executive Chairman of the Federal Inland Revenue Service (FIRS), Majority Leader of the National House of Representatives, Honourable Femi Gbajabiamila, Group MD/CEO of Union Bank of Nigeria Plc, Mr Emeka Emuwa and former renowned sports administrator Dr Lanre Glover.

The full roll call of awardees and categories:

1.          Professor Akinyele Odebunmi OI 1962– Academic Excellence

2.          Dr Lanre Glover OI 6769 – Service to Nation

3.          Dr Kolapo Olatokunbo Akinyemi OI 7072 – Sevice to Igbobi College

4.          Dr Christopher Taiye Olowu OI 7173 – Professional Excellence

5.          Mr Olumuyiwa Olakunle Kinoshi OI 7274 – Service to ICOBA

6.          Sir Babatunde Emannuel Sobamowo Kjw OI 7375 – Professional Excellence

7.          Ambassador Folorunso Otukoya O.O.N OI 7375 – Service to Nation

8.          Mr William Babatunde Fowler OI 7375 – Service to Nation

9.          Arc Theophilus Abiodun Lawson OI 7577 – Professional Excellence

10.        Mr Yemi Coker OI 7577 – Professional Excellence

11.        Mr Adebayo Adepetun Adewakun OI 7577 – Service to ICOBA

12.        Mr Emeka Emuwa OI 7577 – Professional Excellence

13.        Professor Babatunde Josiah Olasode OI 7678 – Academic Excellence

14.        Mr Akinlolu Osinbajo SAN OI 7678 – Professional Excellence

15.        Arc. Olufela Abiodun Yemitan OI 7779/ICOBANA – Service to ICOBA

16.        Mr Olasunbo Olorunjuni Ikuomola OI 7880 – Service to ICOBA

17.        Hon Olufemi Hakeem Gbajabiamila OI 7880 – Service to Nation

18.        Professor Adegboyega Adisa Fawole OI 7880 – Academic Excellence

19.        Dr Richardson Ajayi OI 8082 – Professional Excellence

The Vice President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, Prof Yemi Osinbajo, GCON also graced the event and was on hand to witness his brother, Mr Akinlolu Osinbajo, receive his award.

Responding on behalf of the awardees, the most senior recipient, Professor Akinyele Odebunmi thanked the association for the recognition given to their years of service and dedication to the causes and promised to even strive harder for better things. The ICOBA President, Mr Phillips challenged the awardees to collectively sponsor an ICOBA or Igbobi College project.

The elegant anniversary cake was cut by the ICOBA President, Vice President Osinbajo, Bishop Adegbite, Sir Kehinde Smith who is the Chairman, Board of Governors for Igbobi College, and some of the awardees.

Entertainment and merriment followed immediately after the awards ceremony with light music from the past from the DJ preceded by a live performance by an old boy and recording artiste, Yinnie (Yinka Jegede) who rendered his new single, Alubarika. Saxophonist Temitope Adesanwo and his Thorpeedoh Band thrilled the guests to a medley of inspirational instrumental songs that had men and women dancing all through while the party lasted. 



Events Calendar

No event, please check back later.